//
you're reading...
Reviews

Review: Parliament Hill Farmer’s Market

[tweetmeme source=”fairycakemother”]

My local farmer’s Market at the bottom of Parliament Hill in London is where I often buy my produce. It’s where I bought the Bramleys that I made into tomorrow’s recipe for Mother’s Day – apple and star anise crumble.

It’s held in a school playground just on Hampstead Heath and has producers coming from a radius of 100 miles as it’s a tad tricky to market garden in London. It’s such a lovely atmosphere. Here’s a video my talented other half did, giving you a feel of the market and an interview with the manager, explaining a bit more about the market.

The market is part of London Farmer’s Markets which is part of the official farmer’s markets of the National Farmers’ and Retail Markets Association (FARMA). If you go onto their website, you can see where there is a farmer’s market near you. (In the US, try here).

Here are some photographs to help you get an idea of what it’s like –

This is the stall I get my wild garlic from. I was so busy I forgot to ask the name.

Brambletye Fruit Farm, producing biodynamic apples and eggs. I love the crocheted blanket.

My other half has had Wobbly Bottom cheese and says it’s lovely (I’m allergic but I am totally in love with their website. I love the goat on the banner image chewing away in the background like it owns the place).

Harvest Moon eggs and chicken (sorry, no website or Facebook page or any of that nice contact stuff). If you live near Ramsgate in Kent, drop by Holly Dene Hens. Properly free range.

Market go’ers are asked to tie up their hounds at the entrance to the market, thus creating an endless source of entertainment for yours truly. It’s behind the sausage van which must drive their noses crazy.

Old fashioned puddings and tarts from The Pudding Stop.

Brownies…..

….and that’s me, enjoying a well-earned sausage sandwich from the Giggly Pig. I love their sausages as they’re made from saddleback pigs, which were my favourite when I had a plastic animal farm collection when I was little.

Tomorrow, lots of apple photos and a recipe for Farmer’s Market Apple and star anise crumble.

If you enjoyed this post, why not Like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter and share Fairycakemother with your friends?

About Fairycakemother

Rescuing people from cake emergencies everywhere.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Review: Parliament Hill Farmer’s Market

  1. Wow – what a great market, Rosie! Although Ireland does have some good farmers’ markets, I think if there were one like this around my way, I’d be there all the time.

    I’d spend most of my time at the Pudding Stop, no doubt. But just being there, browsing, taking in all the colours, the smells and the samples, is a feast for all the senses.

    Thanks for sharing, and definitely do share some more photos with us.

    How was your birthday celebration, by the way? Hope you were treated like a princess (or the fairycake mother that you of course are), and were gifted tons of prezzies (especially baking-related ones – my favourite type of prezzie).

    Posted by June in Ireland who loves to bake | April 3, 2011, 9:58 am
    • I live near quite a lot of farmer’s markets and they vary a lot. I have both feet firmly in the ‘will pay for quality and know which more costly ingredients I can stretch to get excellent value from’ camp (catchy title). Some markets are priced at a level the average person cannot afford, some are more pricey – and fairly so for the quality – and some have high quality ingredients for lower than supermarket cost. It is worth educating yourself which is which if you have a budget.

      I had a fab time on my birthday – had some lovely cheesecake when I saw Fiona – AND the only time I’ve ever been asked dark or medium roast when ordering a latte. Fiona has excellent taste in coffee establishments. Link here.

      My OH gave me a cake stand and dome and some jars and my good friend sent me some muffin and bun cases, which no doubt you’ll be seeing in photographs. I’m considering doing a review of the silicone bun cases.

      Posted by Fairycakemother | April 3, 2011, 10:20 am
  2. Good blog post, I absolutely enjoy messages by you.

    Posted by Bert | April 4, 2011, 8:08 pm

Leave a Reply

